ACCESSIBLE WORLD TEK TALK PRESENTS RICK HARMON TO DISCUSS INSTALLING AND USING WINDOWS LIVE MAIL, APRIL 18, 2011

ACCESSIBLE WORLD TEK TALK PRESENTS RICK HARMON TO DISCUSS INSTALLING AND USING WINDOWS LIVE MAIL, APRIL 18, 2011

 

NEWSWIRE:              

 

On Monday, April 18 2011 Rick Harmon will demonstrate installing and using Windows Live Mail 2011 that is part of the Microsoft live essentials package for Vista and Windows 7 users.  Windows 7 doesn’t come with any email program installed and this has presented many challenges for blind users out there.  Windows Live Mail 2011 is just 1 of the possible email clients that can be used on Windows 7.

 

Rick will talk about installing and configuring the program for use and then will discuss in detail the ribbon that the program uses instead of the old style menus used in the earlier versions of the program.  He will also let everyone know the pros and cons of using the newer version of Windows Live Mail.  afterward, Rick will answer questions from the Tek Talk audience.

 

Presenter:Rick Harmon

E-Mail: rickharmon@sbcglobal.net

 

Date: Monday, April 18,  2011

 

Time: 5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CDT,  8:00 PM EDT 

          and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 00:00 GMT

 

Approximately 15 minutes prior to the event start time; go to The Pat Price Tek Talk Training Room at:

 

http://conference321.com/masteradmin/room.asp?id=rsc9613dc89eb2

 

Or, alternatively.

 

Select The Pat Price Tek Talk Training Room at: www.accessibleworld.org

Enter your first and last names on the sign-in screen.

 

All Tek Talk training events are recorded so if you are unable to participate live at the above times then you may download the presentation or podcast from the Tek Talk archives on our website at www.accessibleworld.org

 

If you are a first-time user of the Talking Communities online conferencing software, there is a small, safe software program that you need to download and then run. A link to the software is available on every entry screen to the Accessible World online rooms.

 

All online interactive programs are free of charge, and open to anyone worldwide having an Internet connection, a computer, speakers, and a sound card. Those with microphones can interact audibly with the presenters and others in the virtual audience or text chat with the attendees. To speak to us, hold down the control key and talk; then let up to listen.

 

Accessible World uses News Wires, like this one, to inform people of the topic and times for the many Discussion Groups on Accessible World. The lists are announce only to keep the traffic to a minimum.

 

You can join the Accessible World Announce List, the Tek Talk Announce List or the Sports Talk Announce List by completing the form at: www.accessibleworld.org/mailinglists

 

Accessible World also provides a Tek Talk Discussion List. This list is intended to give you an opportunity to ask computer related questions, suggest topics to be used in the weekly Monday training programs, or just to interact with others interested in using assistive devices to access computers. You may sign up for this list by selecting the Tek Talk Discussion link on the same page and completing the form.

 

Accessible World Contacts:

 

Robert Acosta, Chair

Accessible World

818-998-0044

Email: boacosta@pacbell.net

Web: www.helpinghands4theblind.org

 

Marcia Moses, Events Coordinator

Accessible World

734-495-1496

Email: mgmoses@comcast.net

 

Steve Hoffman, President

Talking Communities

Email: steve@talkingcommunities.com

 

The Accessible World, a division of Helping Hands For The Blind, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization, seeks to educate the general public, the disabled community and the professionals who serve them by providing highly relevant information about new products, services, and training opportunities designed specifically to eliminate geographic and access barriers that adversely affect them